March 2015

SportsTurf provides current, practical and technical content on issues relevant to sports turf managers, including facilities managers. Most readers are athletic field managers from the professional level through parks and recreation, universities.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 44 of 51 March 2015 | SportsTurf 45 S TMA recently hosted its 26th annual Conference & Exhibition in Denver with a record 200 exhibitors and 1,200 attendees from nine countries. During the 4-day event attendees took part in more than 60 educational sessions, visited sports turf exhibits and networked with environmental science leaders. A highlight was two "Seminar on Wheels Tours" at various professional, collegiate and youth sports fields in the Denver area. "Our annual Conference continues to increase sports turf exposure and offers a unique networking opportunity," said Allen Johnson, CSFM, newly elected STMA President and Fields Manager for the Green Bay Packers. "We hope the information shared here will aid in the progression of safer and more playable fields for years to come." Karl Mecklenburg, former Denver Broncos captain and All-Pro linebacker, provided a keynote speech January 15 to the STMA membership. He discussed his challenges rising from a college walk-on and 12th round draft pick to a professional career that included six Pro Bowls and three Super Bowl appearances. His message to attendees was one of embracing positive thinking and focusing on your goals. Following Mecklenburg's keynote, the association held its annual meeting during which the 2015 STMA Board of Directors officially took office, the results of the annual audit were reported, and highlights from the year provided. A summary of STMA's public relations efforts were described; highlights include coverage inSports Illustrated, USA Today, Forbes, NPR, CBS and many more media exposures. Founders AwArd winners Friday night's Awards Banquet was topped off with a presentation of the industry's most prestigious awards, STMA's Founders Awards. Dr. Andrew McNitt of Penn State was honored with the Harry C. Gill Memorial Award, presented to an individual for his or her hard work in the sports turf industry and to acknowledge their dedication to STMA. Tony Leonard, Philadelphia Eagles, was honored with the Dick Ericson Award, presented to someone who p l a n s a n d exe - cutes the sports turf management of their facility, who effectively leads their team t o a c c o m p l i s h their goals in field maintenance, and w h o p o s i t ive ly impacts the sports turf industry. Mike Albino, Ballard Sports, was honored with the George Toma Golden Rake Award, which acknowledges the superior per- formance of a sports turf member in "on the job" activities and in community service. Brian Scott, Mt. San Antonio College, was honored with the Dr. William H Daniel Award, which recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the sports turf industry through his or her research, teaching or extension outreach. 2015 sTMA BoArd oF direCTors The 2015 STMA Board of Directors was introduced to the mem- bership January 15 at the annual meeting. At the helm is President Allen Johnson, CSFM, Fields Manager for the Green Bay Packers. His Executive Committee consists of four other Officers: Immediate Past President David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, Operations Manager, sTMA ConFerenCe experienCes reCord exhiBiTors, inTernATionAl ATTendees 4-day event in Denver featured nearly 60 educational sessions STMA in ACTiOn For more on the latest news, please visit and news from the sports Turf Managers Association left: Dr. Andrew McNitt of Penn State was honored with the Harry C. Gill Memorial Award. right: Tony Leonard, Philadelphia Eagles, was honored with the Dick Ericson Award. left: Mike Albino, Ballard Sports, received the George Toma Golden Rake Founders Award. right: Brian Scott, Mt. San Antonio College, received the William H. Daniel Founders Award. The 2015 STMA Board of Directors: (l to r – front row) Allen Johnson, CSFM, Robert Behr, CSFM, David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, Doug Schattinger, Dan Bergstrom. (l to r – back row) Jeff Salmond, CSFM, Tim Van Loo, CSFM, Sarah Martin, CSFM, Jeff Fowler, Matt Anderson, CSFM, Jimmy Simpson, CSFM. Not pictured: James Graff and David Anderson.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SportsTurf - March 2015