March 2017

SportsTurf provides current, practical and technical content on issues relevant to sports turf managers, including facilities managers. Most readers are athletic field managers from the professional level through parks and recreation, universities.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 43 of 51

44 SportsTurf | March 2017 STMA IN ACTION News from the Sports Turf Managers Association for the Plant Science degree program and conducting research. He serves as the academic advisor for undergraduate students, is an advisor to the turf club and mentors graduate students as they complete their programs to join the industry. His research is focused on answering the question about the inputs required to maintain a healthy turfgrass system under a variety of conditions. He has also has had an impact outside of the US, working on projects in the Bahamas and Puerto Rico. An associate professor, he serves as the Undergraduate Coordinator for the Environmental Horticulture Department for the University. NEW BOARD OF DIRECTORS The new Board officially assumed office at the Annual Meeting January 26. STMA's new President is Tim VanLoo, CSFM, Manager of Athletics Turf/Grounds for Iowa State University in Ames. Other STMA officers elected to the Board include: ■ President-Elect – Sarah Martin, CSFM, City of Phoenix, AZ ■ Immediate Past President – Jeff Salmond, CSFM, Director of Athletic Field Management, University of Oklahoma ■ Secretary/Treasurer – Jody Gill, CSFM, Grounds Coordinator, Blue Valley (KS) School District ■ Vice President Commercial – Doug Schattinger, President, Pioneer Athletics ■ Professional Facilities Director – Weston Appelfeller, CSFM, Director of Grounds, Columbus Crew Directors fulfilling second-year terms are: ■ Academic Director – Elizabeth Guertal, PhD, Auburn University ■ Higher Education Director – Nick McKenna, CSFM, Baseball Field Manager, Texas A&M Members elected to Director positions include: ■ Schools K-12 Director – Sun Roesslein, CSFM, Manager, North Area (CO) Athletic Complex ■ Commercial Director – Boyd Montgomery, CSFM, CSE, Regional Business Manager, The Toro Company ■ Elected-at-Large Director – Matt Anderson, CSFM, Grounds Superintendent, University of Arizona Members appointed to the Board include: ■ Randy Price, Tri-Tex Grass ■ Jimmy Simpson, CSFM, Town of Cary (NC) GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS SAFE created the Leo Goertz Membership Grants this year to honor this long-time SAFE Board member who passed away unexpectedly last year. Made possible by a generous donation from Pioneer Athletics, winners of these inaugural grants included: Vince Brown, Columbus Clippers; Tim Fogelsong, Creston Community Schools; Ford Omori, City of Poway; and Connor White, Great American Ballpark. Another highlight was the presentation of the Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant, which was presented to Nicholas Lievense, Purdue University, by Terry's brother, David Mellor, Boston Red Sox. Terry passed The 2017 STMA Board of Directors: from L to R, front row, Sun Roesslein, CSFM; Jeff Salmond, CSFM; Sarah Martin, CSFM; Nick McKenna, CSFM. Back row, Matt Anderson, CSFM; Tim Van Loo, CSFM; Boyd Montgomery, CSFM, CSE; Weston Appelfeller, CSFM; Jimmy Simpson, CSFM; Jody Gill, CSFM; Randy Price. Not pictured: Doug Schattinger and Beth Guertal, PhD

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SportsTurf - March 2017